WNnG – Musings from the desk of chaz.


Sonic Youth Stream Hits the Airwaves!
May 1, 2009, 6:50 pm
Filed under: New Music

On April 28th, the new Sonic Youth album started streaming for those who have bought the pre-order of the album. Matador Records has been offering early incentive to pre-order at local indie shops (called BEGN – Buy Now, Get Early) in which case, if you buy it early – you get to listen to the album starting now, you get exclusive mp3s, an exclusive live LP from a couple years back and a rad poster. Pretty tempting, no? I love Matador for thinking something like this up. It’s early promotion for the label and the album and it highly supports brick-and-mortar indie shops.

I realized I forgot to mention it on here before, so I’m tossing it out there now. If you’re as psyched for this release as I am, swing by and grab one of these card things with your code on it! This is their first album back into the indie leagues in many, many prolific years. I’m really excited to see what this album will do! Could it convince tons of other solid, indie-minded bands to jump ship from majors back to their beloved indie labels? Who knows, but we’re gonna find out really soon. I’m excited to see the pros and/or cons of it. I haven’t read anything about the album yet, trying not to so I don’t spoil anything for myself, but I’m sure I’m gonna be a sucker for it no matter what it sounds like. Anything they do is gold to me and even though I know this could go in absolutely any direction, it’s guaranteed to be on a lot of our top ten lists. Let’s be honest. If anything, they deserve ridiculous amounts of respect just for making that leap back into our steadfast stomping grounds where we clutch indies and DIYs very close to our hearts.

Release Date: June 9th, 2009.
Get ready!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

