WNnG – Musings from the desk of chaz.


Whatever Brains Apathetically Take the Triangle by Storm.
February 24, 2009, 4:55 pm
Filed under: Bull City Records, New Music

By now, despite my reluctance to post anything about it here, most of you know that Bull City Records released its first 7″ in January. The release has been doing very well on its own steam and I’ve been extremely excited to be a part of it. Actually, I was flattered to even be given the masters to send off to the pressing plant – I thought for sure that they’d realize the weight of what they had and move on quickly to bigger things. Before the release hit the streets, I awkwardly asked if I’d be able to do the next one. Much to my surprise they agreed yet again! Following the second 7″, which we should see in a couple months, I’m hoping they will have been snagged up by a larger label and on to the next tier where they belong.

If you have not taken a second to see the Whatever Brains in all their live glory, I suggest you do so. I’ve got a handful of live video shots that I need to upload to youtube. If you have not heard them, I suggest you march on over to their myspace page and give it a spin.

The point of this post is to announce that our beloved Brains have been given a shot at the bigger leagues. My rep at Matador asked the other week if I’d like for them to try and sell some. All I have to do now is fill out a W9 form and send ’em a batch of thirty! With this batch on the road, it means we’ve been able to move about 250 of the 7″s just in the first two months. It has been very exciting to watch the progress – we’ve been learning as we go along. Let’s not get too excited though, Matador is still able to return them if they don’t sell…so it’s best not to jinx their generous offer. But c’mon, this band is the biggest thing to come out of the Triangle in years.

Here’s Grayson’s write-up and Bryan Reed’s review.

The Scan blog has been revived and is back to doing a marvelous job of documenting the local happenings again.
Just thought I’d give another little update on the state of things around here!


2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Bravo!

Comment by Cangrejero

thanks marco!

Comment by wnng




Leave a comment